CITE Marks 33rd Foundation Day Anniversary

Invitational Basketball with Batch 7 Alumni

CITE commemorated the 33rd anniversary of its Foundation Day on February 14 with a series of activities to celebrate its beginnings and mark milestone events from February 12-15, 2023. This year theme is “Embracing the Challenges of Change.”

Fun Run participants

The first event on February 12 was the annual Fun Run participated in by about 500 runners who at the gun start have traversed the 5K arteries of Barangay San Jose. The Fun Run was sponsored by Juanito I King Foundation, Inc. who provided the runners food packs including King’s products. Other sponsors include Mr. JK Minoza who provided bottled water for the runners, Intellicare for the Zumba, and Mr. Junjun Perolino of Joule’s Lechon Manok.

Electrical skills olympics with instructors scrutinizing the motor control set-up

February 13 opened with the invitational basketball match between CITE staff and Batch 7 graduates and invitational volleyball match between students and alumni. On the sidelights are Interdepartmental Quizbowl, Oratorical Speech Tilt, Spelling Bee, Logo Making Contest, Essay Writing Contest, and BINGO for a Cause.

Electronics skills olympics

February 14 opened with mainstay events during Foundation Day celebrations including Catequiz, Skills Olympics for Electrical Engineering Technology, Electronics Engineering Technology, Mechanical Engineering Technology and Computer Engineering Technology. Crowd-pleasers such as Inter-school Senior High School Quizbowl and Inter-school Oratorical and Declamation Contests and Acoustic Chillout also highlighted the day’s event. A Holy Mass in honor of the Feast Day of Our Mother of Fair Love was also celebrated in the morning.

Oratorical and Declamation contestants

The last day of celebration, February 15, was spiced up by Pinoy Games, Inter-school Dance Competition, Interdepartmental Extemporaneous Speaking, Invitational Art Competition, Singing Competition, and Invitational Badminton Match. Awarding ceremony concluded the 4-day event.

Invitational volleyball with alumni
Art competition

Other sponsors include alumni John Ri Sumalpong, JCE, Ken Mattenlow Rivera, Emmanuel Abellana, Jed Cabellon, Janry Martus, Jhon Darryl Coyoca, Neil John Coyoca, and  Jomark Coyoca.

Hereunder is the partial list of winners during the competitions:

Interschool Art competition Winners

Champion – Cashlee Paras – Abellana National High School

2nd Place – Hyacinth P. Cabello – Pardo National High School

3rd Place – Shunt Psalter B. Gelig – Mabolo National High School

Inter-school Quiz Bowl

Champion –  Maria Ysabelle G. Go and Christifanie Ann S. Tigley – University of San Jose Recoletos

2nd place – Jezelle B. Tejano and James Timothy H. Abejar – Cebu City Science High School 

3rd place – Sandara V. Busano and Alexa G. Acero – Benedicto College

Fun Run

Champion: Kiro Del Rosario – 2G Comp

2nd: James Ryan Gerodias – 2J Mech

3rd: Vergel Cabales – 6B Elec

Declamation Contest Winners

Champion: Talamban National High School

2nd place: Cebu City Science High School

3rd place: Abellana National High School

Oration Contest Winners

Champion: Cebu City Science High School

2nd place: University of San Carlos SHS South campus

3rd place: Academia de San Isidro Labrador High School

Essay Writing Contest

Champion – Lester Jay Tulod -2H Comp

2nd place – Simeon Jr. Enricoso – 2N Mech

3rd place – Jenisis Canales – 2o Elex

Logo Making Contest

Champion – Jerwin Borres – 2D Elec

2nd place – Guian Karlo Bontuyan – 2L Mech

3rd place – John Paul Bontilao – 2D Elec

Extemporaneous Speaking Contest

Champion – Ashley Earl Maravilla – 2E Elec

2nd place – Bellie Joey Jamboy – 2H Computer

3rd place – Ismail Perez – 2L Mech

Electronics Skills Olympics

Champion: John Rey Laurea,

2nd place: Joseph Balasabas

3rd place: John Roy Rigodon

4th place: Eric Razonale

5th place: Niño Rhey Medio

Spelling Bee

Champion – Kert Deniega – 2R ELEX

2nd place – Luis Martin Garcia – 2c ELEC

3rd place – Breindel Dave Obidos -2Q Comp

Oratorical Contest-School based

Champion – Michael Tristan Flores – 2i Comp

2nd place – Jaun Carlo Magbago – 2D Elec

3rd place – Ashley Earl Maravilla – 2E Elec

Quiz Bee

Champion – Brian Caluscusin and Kerin Joshua Baruc- 2H Comp

2nd place – Franz Aranyas amd Dario Amay Jr. – 2L Mech

3rd place – Jemuel Bedrijo and Kyle Andrei Misiona – 2L – Mech

Mechanical Skills Olympics

Champion – Harvy Luardo

2nd place- Cobarde , Niño Rey

3rd place – Anthonel Tagalog

4th place – Adrian Bolambao

5th place – Jeward Campaña

Invitational Volleyball Match


Khryss Limotan -Teradyne Philippines

Aleen Mark Alcantara – Teradyne Philippines

Arjy Roca-Minebea Mitsumi

Mariel Escultor- CDRRMO

Mark Montecina – Teradyne Philippines

Carl Ybanez