Meet: 11 Successful Cebuano Entrepreneurs

Success is a term that cannot be defined easily simply because its definition may differ from one person to another. For example, my friend believes that success is when you get to relax in a house somewhere in the province far away from the city life. Another friend of mine sees success as having the luxury to buy whatever you want.

All of us want to be successful, yet we have our own definition to what it is. Here, however, is a list of Cebuano entrepreneurs who hit most definitions of successful among the masses. Hopefully, these people will be an inspiration for young entrepreneurs who have big dreams.

1. Kenneth Cobonpue

  • Filipino Industrial Designer
    Founder of Kenneth Cobonpue Brand
    Rattan’s First Virtuoso by Time Magazine, 2006
    Designer of the Year Award from 1st Edition of Maison et Objet Asia, Singapore, 2014

2. Justin Uy

  • Founder of Profood International Corp.
    Owner of JPark Island Resort and Waterpark
    Founder of J Centre Mall

3. Jose “Joe” Soberano III

  • Cebu Landmasters Inc. Chairman, President, and CEO
    Senior Division Manager at Ayala Land
    Vice-President of Cebu Holdings
    Chairman of the Board at the Center for Industrial Technology and Enterprise (CITE)

4. Julita Urbina

  • Laguna Group of Companies Founder
    Entrepreneur of the Year by the Cebu Chamber of Commerce and Industry
    Café Laguna as Best Filipino Restaurant in 2007

5. Jay Aldeguer

  • The Islands Group Founder and Chairman
    Our Islands Foundation Founder
    “The Outstanding Young Men” (TOYM) award
    International Young Design Entrepreneur of the Year

6. John Gokongwei

  • JG Summit Holdings Founder
    Universal Robina Corporation Founder
    Cebu Pacific Air Owner
    Digital Telecommunications Philippines Founder

7. Michel Lhuillier

  • M Lhuillier Group of Companies Founder and Chairman
    Cebu Provincial Sports Commission Chairman
    Honorary consul of France in Cebu
    Cebu Safari Adventure and Adventure Park Founder

8. Frank Gaisano

  • Metro Retail Stores Group, Inc. (MRSGI) Chairman and CEO
    AB Capital and Investment Chairman
    Pacific Mall Corporation Chairman
    Vicsal Investment, Inc Chairman
    Taft Property, Filipino Fund, Inc. Director

9. Augusto Go

  • Photo courtesy of Forbes Philippines
    University of Cebu Founder and President
    Toyota Cebu City Chairman
    Board of Aspac Rural Bank Inc. Chairman
    Cebu Central Realty Corp. Chairman

10. Erramon Aboitiz

  • Aboitiz Equity Ventures Chief Executive
    #48 in Forbe’s 2017 Philippines 50 Richest Net Worth
    Entrepreneur of the Year 2011 by SGV Foundation

11. Bunny Pages

  • Founder & CEO of Pages Holdings, Inc. which owns House of Lechon, Mooon Cafe, Thirsty, Top of Cebu, Sushi Boy, Lantaw Native Restaurant, Taters, among others.
    2015 Grand Chamber’s Entrepreneur of the Year

Written by Arthur Paul Monteclar of

Original text published on